Pogačar swapped the road for mud and took the win in the Cyclocross race!

Tadej Pogačar is the winner of the second Slovenian Cyclocross Cup race, which took place today at the Stožice Hippodrome in Ljubljana. After eight laps in muddy and demanding conditions, the superstar of road cycling celebrated a victory over the second-placed Luka Mezgec and the third-placed Matevž Govekar.

Tadej Pogačar (UAE Team Emirates) was the center of attention of the domestic cyclocross race. He and Luka Mezgec (BikeExchange – Jayco) staged a beautiful duel in front of many passers-by who gathered outside the marked track boundaries. Due to the current measures in the fight against the coronavirus epidemic, the event was held without the presence of spectators.

The track consisted of a 2.3 km long lap and ran on macadam, sand and grass with many obstacles and stairs, which posed a great challenge for the competitors. Among a total of 126 competitors registered in all categories, 16 competed in the men category – the main event.

Matevž Govekar (Tirol KTM) was the one who dictated the rhythm in the first three laps, followed by Mezgec and Pogačar. Then the two-time Tour de France champion began to increase the pace and together with Mezgec, they created an increasing advantage over the pursuers.

In the sixth lap, Pogačar, the 2018 national champion in cyclocross, managed to make a gap and escaped Mezgec by 21 seconds. In the last two laps, Tadej controlled the situation and calmly steered to the finish line of the muddy track. He victoriously crossed the line with a 10 seconds lead over Mezgec and 37 seconds over Govekar.

Today was an ideal day for cyclocross, otherwise a four-hour workout would have awaited me. I enjoyed it a lot… the track was nice and the fans were great. In the winter I occasionally like to change the rhythm and a race like any other presented a challenge. We had a good fight and I had to put in my best effort to prevail. ” said Tadej Pogačar.

* Slovenian Cyclocross Cup, Ljubljana:

  1. Tadej Pogačar(UAE Team Emirates) 59:18 (8 laps)
  2. Luka Mezgec (BikeExchange – Jayco) + 0:10
  3. Matevž Govekar (Tirol KTM) + 0:37
  4. Anže Ravbar (Adria Mobil) + 2:08
  5. Matic Kranjec Žagar (Calcit Bike Team) + 2:11
  6. Mihael Štajnar (mebloJOGI Pro-Concrete) + 3:52

Go to Top