The annual prestigious sports awards ceremony boasts a rich history, as the first event dates back to 2000. The event organizers present the award in six different categories: Sportswoman, Sportsman, Team, Breakthrough, Comeback, and Action. The nominees are selected by votes from more than 1,000 renowned sports journalists from over 70 countries.

With a glorious victory in the most prestigious cycling race in the world, the Tour de France in 2020, Tadej Pogačar secured a place among the nominees in the Breakthrough of the year category. The competition for the title will be fierce, as Pogačar’s rivals for the flattering award for the breakthrough of the year will be FC Barcelona’s young football star Ansu Fati, current world motorcycle champion Joan Mir, tennis player Iga Swiatek, Austrian tennis player Dominic Thiem and American footballer Patrick Mahomes.

In order to respect continued social distancing measures caused by the worldwide pandemic, the organizers of the 2021 Laureus World Sports Awards decided to hold a virtual event. The award winners should be announced at the beginning of May 2021.

 Photo: BettiniPhoto